maggie strong.

everything you read isn’t always true.

Image

“Holy crap, stop reading things on the internet!” I just needed to give myself a quick pep talk. 

I was in the middle of sending an email and needed to double check the spelling of my asshole of a tumor. It’s long, starts with an “O” and I just call it OJ Simpson. It’s stupid, why do they have to make such long, complicated words when fact is, it’s very simple… it’s cancer, it’s just simply called cancer.

Anaplastic Oligodendroglioma. See, it’s stupid. I googled it to make sure I was spelling it was correct, and it was the first time since April 25th, when my tumor was first found, that I even searched anything on the internet that had anything to do with cancer, brain tumors or Anaplastic Oligodendroglioma. I mistakenly clicked on 1 link and started reading about other patients prognosis and survival. Luckily, they were all over the place so I didn’t feel an overwhelming “I’m going to die in 3 years” sensation. I’m still scared-as-shit. 

I had to close the website, sit up straight and say “Maggie! Stop!”. I put a smile on my face, took a deep breath and brought myself back to Earth. I might have to tell myself that it will be okay, and say it like I actually mean it, but it will be okay. One day at a time.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “everything you read isn’t always true.

  1. I am so very proud of you. You are an awesome, amazing woman who fortunately (for me) is my daughter!
    I love you, Maggie Rose!
    Mom

  2. Shirley McGonnell on said:

    Dear Maggie,
    Remember me-your second grade teacher?I remember having to learn to spell Sobierajski.I remember what a sweet little girl you were.Just a note about radiation.Two years ago I had breast cancer and had to have radiation.I’m sure yours will be different than mine but I had to wear a hard plastic vest that they had to strap down on the table.It took longer to get undressed and into a gown
    that it did for them to do the radiation-but this will help you with your recovery.Good luck-will continue to keep you in my prayers.Love, Shirley McGonnell

  3. Donna Cassels on said:

    Maggie,

    I am so happy that you are staying strong and upbeat. I wanted to tell you about my mom.

    When she was 22 she was told she had Hodgkin’s disease,which is now called Hodgkin’s lymphoma, it’s cancer of the lymph nodes . There was no cure for it and she was told she would live only about a year. She told me that she just said,, no way, I have to raise my children”. She always said, your mind is the most important part of overcoming a disease. A cure was found during her lifetime and my mom lived to be 72. Of course, she had some treatments and even surgery to remove some lymphnodes but her life wasn’t a lifetime of doctor visits and treatments.

    I know you have a fight ahead of you but keep that fighting spirit that you have.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

